National Music Awards 2075

Veteran singer and musician Manik Ratna Sthapit received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the Nepali music industry at the 20th Radio Kantipur National Music Awards 2019 (2075) on Saturday, January 19, at the Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

Kantipur Media Group Chairman and Managing Director Kailash Sirohiya presented Sthapit with the award, which comes with a purse of Rs 100,000. Sthapit’s career has spanned six decades, during which time he’s performed and recorded over three dozen songs. But Sthapit is primarily known for his music in Nepal’s first colour film, Kumari. At the award ceremony, singers Bhabin Dhungana and Bishwa Nepali performed Sthapit’s songs as a tribute.

Singers Shiva Pariyar and Durga Pariyar won the Best Aadhunik Singers for ‘Aasu ko artha’ and ‘Ban ful’ in the male and female categories, respectively. Ramesh BG also won Best Lyricist for ‘Ban ful’.

Similarly, Nitesh Jung Kunwar bagged the People’s Choice for his song ‘Haamro Nepal Maa’ while Kamal Khatri won Best Pop Singer (Male) for ‘Haasna sike’ and Tika Prasain won Best Pop Singer (Female) for ‘Maaya luki luki’.

The award ceremony witnessed musical performances by Rohit John Chhetri, Nikhita Thapa, Prabisha Adhikari, Kulendra BK, Sandhya Budha and Sugam Pokharel, along with a performance by comedian Manoj Gajurel impersonating as Donald Trump.

Speaking at the event, Sirohiya assured that singers, musicians and lyricists would be receiving due royalties for their creations. He also promised that a number of new reality shows would be broadcast on the station.

Dinesh DC, the station manager for Radio Kantipur, said that events like these are necessary to help the Nepali music industry flourish.

Award winners

New singer: Buddha Lama for Timi Saath Bhaye Pachhi

Lyricist: Ramesh BG for Ban Ful

Composer: Hari Lamsal for Udyo Man

Folk Singer (Male): Santosh KC for Daai ki Saali

Folk Singer (Female): Shantishree Pariyar for Bola Maaya

Playback Singer (Male): Sugam Pokharel for Pal Pal

Playback singer (Female): Banika Pradhan for Udyo Man

National song: Purba Timro by Nishan Bhattarai and Shital Moktan

Pop singer (Male): Kamal Khatri for Haasna Sike

Pop singer (Female): Tika Prasain for Maaya Luki Luki

Musical band: Rhythm for Mann Magan

Aadhunik Singer (Male): Shiva Pariyar for Aashu ko artha

Aadhunik Singer (Female): Durga Pariyar for Ban Ful

Singing duo: Rajesh KC and Sujata Upadhyaya for Timi Raaji Ma Raaji

People’s Choice: Nitesh Jung Kunwar for Haamro Nepal Maa

Published: The Kathmandu Post, 21-01-2019